Falcon's Way Fine Jewellery


Precious Metals:

Sterling Silver – A composition regulated by law to mean 92.5% pure silver and 7.5% pure copper

Gold – Karatage is used to measure the fineness of gold, usually from 9K – 24K incorporating alloys such as copper, zinc, silver and nickel to obtain different working qualities or to vary the colour of gold

Platinum – rare, high density metal

Diamond 4 C’s:
The value of a diamond is determined by four factors known as the “4 C’s”:

Cut – The cut of a diamond refers to its proportions, overall symmetry and finish and not its shape. The better the cut, the more brilliance, fire and sparkle a diamond has.

Clarity – During crystallization, tiny inclusions have been left in most diamonds. The fewer the inclusions, the better the brilliance and dispersion of light. The GIA clarity grading system is a descending scale of Flawless, IF(Internally Flawless), VVS (Very, Very Small Inclusions), VS (Very Small Inclusions), SI (Small Inclusions and I (Imperfect eye visible inclusions)

Colour – Diamonds are graded for colour (or lack of colour) on an alphabet scale ranging from the most desirable “D” (total colourless) down to light yellow or brown, represented by the letter “Z”. Diamonds which have a definite depth of colour are graded differently and classified as “fancies”. These fancy colours may include: black, blue, pink, green, yellow

Carat Weight – This is the unit of weight with 1 carat equalling 100 points. Although size is a factor, two diamonds of equal weight can have very different values due to clarity, colour and cut.

Coloured Gemstones:

While sapphires, rubies and emeralds are the most well known and common coloured gemstones available, there are many more beautiful options available. There is a gemstone in every colour under the rainbow and even some that have more than one colour! The lore and legends of these gemstones prove fascinating and nothing expresses one’s individuality more than a unique coloured gemstone. Just a few notable ones: amber, amethyst, andalusite, aquamarine, citrine, garnet, jade, opal, peridot, spinel, tanzanite, topaz, tourmaline, turquoise and zircon. Please contact us for more information regarding the availability, properties and care of these and/or any gemstone.


There are many different types of pearls available on the market today ranging from cultured Akoya, freshwater, mabe, South Sea and natural. As no two pearls are identical, there are a range of qualities and these are judged by their shape, size, colour, lustre, surface appearance, and nacre thickness. Pearls come in a myriad of colours and their soft lustre give them a unique versatile quality making them elegant and demure or cool and sophisticated.